Job Profile – Occupational Health Advisor, Development Role

Name: Tracy Bland.

Job title: Occupational Health Advisor – Development Role.

Where do you live? Carlisle.

Where do you work? In Carlisle and across a range of sites in west Cumbria.

Take us through a typical day: I set off by 8am usually to get to various sites depending on the day. The clinics I hold are pretty full with either health screening or fit for work reviews all day. I then finish at about 4:30-5pm and travel home where I enjoy spending time with my granddaughter.

What do you like most about the job? Meeting various people, learning about other people’s roles and helping people stay in the jobs they enjoy; I love that I belong to a very supportive team who look after and help each other.

What do you like least? At the moment I enjoy everything about my job.

Why did you want to do this job? I enjoyed the assessment aspect of my previous role and wanted to expand this to help people in the workplace. We spend a large period of our lives working and so I wanted to help employers to keep their staff safe, happy and healthy.

What qualifications or experience do you need? A nursing qualification and working in an assessment role is helpful, but lots of enthusiasm, being open minded and a willingness to learn are all vital!

What is a typical salary for this job? It depends on experience and qualifications.

Any advice for people wanting to get into your profession? Spend some time in an assessment environment as a lot of the work is asking questions. The work can be quite solitary so you need to be able to work on your own a lot, however, you should have a good team who are there to help as needed.

What do you like doing in your spare time? Cross stitching, socialising with friends and spending time with my family.

Any advice for your childhood self? Have a little more self-belief, nothing is as bad as it seems.

Most annoying habit: Making lists and forgetting things I’ve just been told.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Organised, helpful and a worrier.

Favourite happy place in Cumbria: Silloth, it reminds me of childhood days with my grandparents.

Where in the world would you most like to visit? Italy or Florida Disney World.

Biggest achievement to date? Studying for and achieving my nursing qualification while I had 3 young children at home.

Who do you admire most? Too many individual people to mention, but I admire anyone who remains strong in the face of adversity and those who stand up for their beliefs and stand up for others.

What makes you happy? Spending time with family and friends. I became a Nanna 18 months ago to a beautiful little girl and she honestly makes me smile so much!