Job Profile – Occupational Health Nurse and First Aid at Work Trainer

Name: Kaleigh Faust.

Job title: Occupational Health Nurse and First Aid at Work Trainer.

Employer: Choose Occupational Health.

Age: 31.

Where are you from? Birmingham.

Where do you live now? Silloth.

Where do you work? All over Cumbria.

How long have you done this job? Since 1st April 2019.

Take us through a typical day: I arrive at premises for the day, set up appropriate equipment required for that day’s sessions and work my way through appointments. All my activities are geared towards providing advice to the employer and employee on how best to stay safe and well while at work. If I’m training, I’ll go to the venue and get set up ready for the busy day ahead. Our courses cover lots of information, so it helps to be as organised as possible. Timing and pace of the course varies depending on the group. Despite the serious nature of the content, there’s usually a few laughs. I find that people learn much more when they feel relaxed and at ease.

What do you like most about the job? Having to think and use my knowledge to troubleshoot and being able to have a positive impact on people’s working life.

What do you like least? I’ve not found anything yet, but I’ll get back to you!

Why did you want to do this job? To gain new knowledge and experience in a completely different area of healthcare to where I have worked before.

What qualifications or experience do you need? Qualified Nurse.

Any advice for people wanting to get into your profession? It is still a vocation if you want to make a positive change in people’s lives. We are in a privileged position.

What do you like doing in your spare time? Spending time with my family, cat and friends, swimming, Pilates and football. Love the beach too.

Any advice for your childhood self? Be grateful for every second of life you get.

Most annoying habit – probably giggling too much.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Overthinker, Loving, Loves-a-chuckle.

Favourite happy place in Cumbria: Silloth.

Where in the world would you most like to visit? Russia.

Biggest achievement to date? Having the courage to change my life and relocate.

Who do you admire most? My sister and parents.

What makes you happy? Being around those I love. Making new memories and reliving good old ones.